Skip to content

unhitched and hitched.

June 1, 2010

Jared and I got engaged in December 2008; life was different for us then.  We were just a couple who happened to live in different time zones and would see each other once every three weeks or so.  Things from that time have been moving in fast forward for me at least.

Getting married, hitched, was pretty intense but by the time we actually got married it was so right – I wasn’t nervous or scared.  I remember being in the limo with my dad and saying – I am so ready to just get married.

It was being engaged that took a long while to settle into me – I don’t know if that’s normal but really what is normal?  We had an engagement of over a year and it was a really good practice for me to see what it was going to be like to have a partner in crime.  And it was also a time for me to slowly transform into a new version of me – to go from a single girl to a married one.

Before meeting him, I just thought I would be one of those successful girls who has everything but the man, and I was OK with that.  I had a career, I had hobbies, I had friends with kids.  But wham – getting married could really change that – and I guess in a way it did, for the good.

Our engagement encompassed Jared moving to NJ and us getting a grown up apartment and seeing each other for more than extended weekends.  It encompassed my job becoming more demanding and the commute to NYC becoming more taxing.  It also encompassed me getting pretty sick, Jared taking care of me and my job consequently letting me go because they couldn’t hold my position any longer.  Probably the main cause of my illness, I just couldn’t bear to lose all that I thought was so important in a job that in reality treated me so poorly — the Universe stepped in and made the decision for me and unhitched me from my work-life.

So there I was sick and unemployed with my almost husband who supported me through it all.  Needless to say, walking down the aisle I already knew I had someone in sickness and in health.

While I was off work, my doctor told me to do the things that would make me happy and would be less stressful – my husband suggested I get a little serious about writing a blog.  I had written one on and off for about six years but this one could take on a theme of things that I was passionate about.  I love to craft and cook and make things beautiful.  I love the whole retro vibe mixed with modern sleekness and, heck, I was about to become a wife.  There was definitely something there.

So I thought it would be fun to write about being a wife – house wife or whatever you want to call it.  But the changes that occur from being single to being officially wed and the creative projects I do or want to do.  I am back to working a way less stressful job and trying to make our apartment a home, cook good and healthy dinners and be healthy and happy while being a modern wife.

My mother kept telling me that things would change when I was ‘a married woman’ and as much as I didn’t want to buy into that idea, it’s true.  Change is good — it refines you and lets you be a better version of yourself if you let it.   It’s all about how you make it — and this is how I make my life.  This blog is born out of that change.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 2, 2010 6:34 pm

    Love the new look and blog. I look forward to seeing you here more often! 🙂

Leave a Reply

