Skip to content

chunky monkey for your chubby hubby.

July 7, 2010

I have been looking in our cabinets and all I see are all these really cool small kitchen appliances that we registered for and were gifted.  It was a total rush to just basically pick out all the cool gadgets that I wanted and actually get them — now, the thing is how to actually use them.  It takes a while to get out of your old habits of hand-chopping and mixing and really master the art of the small kitchen appliances.  So I thought I’d add my experiences as a new wife with a newly gifted kitchen of cool gadgets.  This is the first installment in the How to Use that Registry Gift portion of the blog.

My Dad got me a shirt from this guy Ice Cream Man From Hell

It’s no secret to those who know me that I LOVE ice cream.  The sad part is that it really doesn’t love me; I am allergic to dairy (and virtually everything else that tastes good)!  Of course I cheat and have it now and again, but in the spirit of trying to be good, I have started using the Bella Cucina Rocket Blender that we got as a wedding present and making a very healthy and tasty home-made ice-cream.

I’ve made soy ice cream before – with tofu, peanut butter, cardoman and soy milk and it was dee-lish – remind me to post those directions and cool photos I shot.   That ice cream maker is long gone, so I ventured on to make my own sort of ice cream.  It evolved from making smoothies that turned more and more like soft serve.  I am also really into the almond milk.  It’s super-tasty and good for the soy-free folks (not so much for the nut-free ones though).

A few weeks ago, I spotted a huge package of banana’s in the day-old section of our food store.  The banana’s were just a bit past the perfect ripeness that we would eat them at, which made them perfect to freeze and pop into a smoothie or use in a banana bread later.  They were very spotted, a little mushy and very cheap.  I peeled them, cut them in half and then proceeded to forget about them until it got hot.

It’s currently 108 degrees in New Jersey!!  Definitely ice cream weather – too bad Mr. Softee doesn’t serve dairy free.

Here’s the deal.  There are like 2 million entries on things like this, so I am not claiming at all to be original – it just tastes too damn good not to share.  I say it tastes like Chunky Monkey, but that’s just because the bananas I use are super-ripe and I throw in some dark chocolate (or whole foods vegan chocolate) chips.  You can add anything your little heart desires.

You can also use a high-powered blender like a Vitamix or even a food processor.  But for around $30 you can get one of these Cucina thingy’s and you are set.  I think it’s safe to assume that that less power you have, the more liquid you will need.

Home-made Chunky Monkey (healthy version)

yeilds about one bowl fullvery low on the calories.

  • 1-2 Frozen Bananas, sliced
  • 1/2 Cup of Almond Milk (I used original)
  • 1 Handful of Chocolate Chips of Your Choice
  • 1 Handful of Walnuts
  • Bella Cucina with small cup attachment

Check it out, let me know what you think.  I think I hear the ice cream man now!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

