Skip to content

crafting…

November 1, 2010

In an effort to get back to making things.  I just signed up for the freshly blended 2010 holiday craft swap.  I did this a few years ago and got some really cool handmade ornaments.  I haven’t figured out which ornament I will make but it will be fun.  Hopefully I can get Jared in on the fun or some of my friends.

check it out here:

Freshly Blended Holiday Ornament Swap 2010

Any suggestions for ornaments that I can make??

A few weeks ago I did some projects for my dear friends wedding.  It was my first foray into flower arranging as well as veil making and cake topper making.  I took the opportunity as a way to make a lot of the things I wanted to do for my own wedding but didn’t due to lack of time and energy.  For the flowers I used dried baby’s breath and peacock feathers to go with the orange and teal colors.  I think they came out great and I still have my bouquet up on our bookcase as decoration.  For the brides flowers, I used the same dried Baby’s breath but added flowers I bought at the local food store the day before the wedding.  It’s really simple to make a beautiful bouquet on a budget.  I watched some tutorials on youtube – what a great resource – and ended up with a gorgeous arrangement for a fraction of what it would have cost for a florist.  It almost made me regret getting my bouquet from the florist – but I adored the one that I had.

The wedding had a lot of great DIY elements!  I also got to make these little guys for the wedding cake topper.  I even used some of her actual hair for the bride one.  It was very fun and cute.   GooseGrease over at Etsy was my resource for the items and I picked the colors and painted them all up myself.  I had to make a little wig and sew the hair in to make it work – but it was totally worth it!

Also on my crafting list is to get back to knitting.  I haven’t knit in almost two years due to arthritic pain in my hands from the fibro.  My cousin Kimmy is prego and I’d love to  make her little boy a blanket or sweater.  Let’s hope the pain doesn’t keep me from knitting.

in an effort to get back to making things.  i just signed up for the freshly blended 2010 holiday craft swap.  I did this a few years ago and got some really cool handmade ornaments.  I haven’t figured out which ornament I will make but it will be fun.  Hopefully I can get Jared in on the fun or some of my friend.

check it out here:

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 1, 2010 5:42 pm

    I do think the AlphaDoll could have mass market appeal… heheheeee

    I signed up for the ornament thing too…I’m thinking something nature-ey yet winter-ey…

Leave a Reply

