Skip to content

hosting my first holiday.

December 20, 2010

We alternate holidays between New Jersey and Florida and this year happens to be Christmas in Florida.  Don’t get me wrong, there’s nothing better than sitting on the beach on Christmas Eve enjoying a pina colada while you suckers are shoveling snow up North.  But I will definitely miss the family time in NJ.  I got to host my first actual holiday dinner which was a little scary.

 

 

The menu:

  • Baked Brie (I saw this recipe in a mag and had to duplicate it – minimal work for a great presentation and tasty result.  It didn’t last long enough to even snap a pic, but trust that it was super cute with a pastry ribbon that I crafted myself!); Crudites; Cheese and Crackers
  • Cold Antipasta – made by my father
  • Gluten Free Lasagna
  • Garlic Roast Lamb (Seared on the Stove-top in a Cast Iron Pan first) with Roasted Potatoes and Root Veggies
  • Italian Pasteries from Calandra’s
  • Christmas Cookies: chocolate white chip (gf), chocolate peanut butter chip (gf), peanut butter chocolate kiss, star wars sugar cookie, and chocolate chip

All in all it was a pretty big success.  I love being able to cook and spend time together.  I even got to really decorate and enjoy the season and our apartment.   A few things I learned — definitely do your homework when cooking meat.  I had to talk to the butcher about the cut and the amount needed  and I got a meat thermometer which melted in the oven because I didn’t realize you have to take it out.

my sis, dad and me – christmas 2010

Wookie and I baked cookies last night and it took us a while.  I got to utilize my Kitchen Aid for the second time and it really does help to have one of those suckers.  I got him some awesome Star Wars cookie cutters and he was very excited to help me.  He also got into making the gingerbread house.  He used to have them when he was a kid (the already made kind) so making one was a big deal to him.  Looks pretty good for a first try.

pre-fab gingerbread perfection with sad santa.

I am so full.  Missing the holiday already and we still have a week to go.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 20, 2010 1:15 pm

    lamb huh?? Can’t say I have ever attempted to cook that… we had Ryan’s Birthday Fiesta on Saturday!!! I cooked beans and rice, chicken, beef and steak tacos/fajitas/burritos, the works! Um, we need to have a cook-off… BRING IT!

Leave a Reply

