Skip to content

comfort food.

February 7, 2011

After a long weekend and then sitting shiva for a friend who lost a child, we were both craving some comfort food.  And to me, there’s nothing more therapeutic and meditative (besides yoga) than cooking.  I had in the back of my mind for a few weeks now that I wanted to have my hand at making homemade gnocchi.  I had some gluten free stuff from Whole Foods and it was just blah.  That’s the thing with being gluten free – the store bought stuff is not always so great.

Typical to my  usual cooking technique, I read a bunch of recipes and then did my own thing.  Here’s my recipe:

Gluten Free Potato Gnocchi

5 Large Potatoes

1- 1/2 Cup of Potato Starch

1- 1/2 Cup of Gluten Free Flour Mix (I used Bob’s Red Mill)

2 eggs

2 TBSP of Olive Oil

1 Pinch of Salt

Mash the potatoes. I think it’s best to use a potato ricer – but I didn’t have one and just did a lot of mashing with a fork so that the mixture was relatively lump free.

Add the eggs and olive oil to make the mixture sticky.

Combine the flours in a separate bowl and slowly add 2 Cups of flour to the potato mixture, leaving roughly one cup on the side.  Your mixture should be doughy – you can add from the additional flour to get the best consistency.  I think it will be about the consistency of Playdoh when it is ready.

Take out a handful of the dough and roll into a long rope (using extra flour to keep it from sticking) about the diameter of a nickel, then cut half inch pieces off.  If you want to get fancy, you can score them with a fork to make them look really fancy.

Place finished gnocchi’s onto a cookie sheet and put into the freezer.   If you want to eat them right away, just let them chill a bit and then boil them in salted water just until they float.  They can also get put into a bag once they get firm so that they don’t stick together and can be used at a later date.

They can be eaten after they boil or you can saute them in olive oil after they are boiled.  I served them with some marinara.  Can’t believe I didn’t take a good photo of the finished product – but seriously, they were gone in minutes.  So light and fluffy.

Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

